Our History

T he School of Nursing, Abuja, was established in 1981 at a temporary site in Suleja, Niger state. The General Hospital Suleja served as the school's clinical base for the student nurses' clinical experience under a provisional approval by the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria.

The school took off with an initial intake of 46 student nurses with Mr Alhassan Abdul as the Principal, five tutors and one clinical instructor. The school operated on the temporary site at Suleja, Niger state until 1990 when it was moved to Gwagwalada Specialist Hospital (now University of Abuja Teaching Hospital), using the hospital's Administrative block for both classroom and office accomodation. In the year 1991, the school got a final approval from the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria. The schoool finally moved from the Hospital's Administrative block to the current permanent site in 1994.

It is worthy to mention that the schoool came into existence through the effort of Mrs Saidi Mohammed, who was at the time Matron-in=charge of training in the Federal Capital Development Authority, Abuja. Its was her foresight and the pressure she mounted on the Federal Capital Development Authority, Abuja as well as the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria, that brought about the establishment of this institution. Today the institution is serving its purpose of solving the health needs of the people of the Federal Capital Territory.

The school has a total of six(6) departments;
Nursing Department
Anatomy and Physiology Department
Medical Surgical Nursing Department
Primary Health Care Department
Family Health Department, and
General Studies Department.

The school runs a Basic Nursing Programme which lasts for a duration of 3years. It also runs a Post Basic Nursing Programme which lasts for 18months. The school has a Science laboratory, a computer laboratory equipped with internet facilities, a library and a Nursing laboratory to enhance the teaching/learning experience in the school.

Meet the Team

Lakareks James


Yakubu Abdulganiyu A.

Vice Principal, Administration

Babajide Stephen

Vice Principal, Academics

Kigbu Job Yaro

Examination Officer